Rated higher than Ontop on Trustpilot.
Best for: Small businesses and startups, as Wise Business names them
- Trustpilot4.3/5· 294,008
Ontop is a contractor platform: payouts, contractor management and Contractor of Record (COR), all priced from one $49 per contractor a month card. Its help centre says it no longer provides EOR directly. Ontop states 150+ countries; we document 155 from its payout country guide. Its Client T&Cs are public, its COR service agreement is not, and the pricing card and the terms describe two different COR models.
| Service | Price | Basis | Score | Countries documented |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor payouts | from US$49[1][2][3][4] | per contractor a month | Our score 7.5 of 10 | 155 countries |
| Contractor management | from US$49[1][3][5] | per contractor a month | Our score 6.9 of 10 | None documented |
| Contractor of Record | from US$49[1][5][6] | per contractor a month | Our score 7.1 of 10 | None documented |
Other contractor payouts providers, by our contractor payouts score. How we score
Rated higher than Ontop on Trustpilot.
Best for: Small businesses and startups, as Wise Business names them
Best for: Companies of any size that work mostly with contractors spread over many countries
Best for: Startups, SMBs, agencies and enterprises: the segments Remozo names for its contractor product
Read review (Remozo)The team column is the list price times 10 people, per month.
| Service | Setup fee | Team of 10, per month | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor payouts | None | US$490 | Ontop's one published price is the card titled 'Contractor of record': 'Starting from $49 /month', with $63.2 /month struck through and 'Subject to conditions and total number of workers'. The same figure is used for payouts, contractor management and COR; no payouts-only price is published. Billing is Pay per Contract (each active seat, so the fee varies monthly) or a Fixed Plan of pre-committed seats, plus transfer fees from a fee schedule. The payout guide lists per-country fees, for example 6 USD for a USD bank transfer and 1.2% for USDT or USDC, and a 10,000 USD transaction limit. The help centre says Ontop does not operate for companies in sanctioned countries.[1][2][3][4] |
| Contractor management | None | US$490 | The same $49 card as contractor payouts; no management-only price is published.[1][3][5] |
| Contractor of Record | None | US$490 | Priced on the card titled 'Contractor of record'. The card's own copy says 'Work directly with your contractors. Use your own agreements or Ontop templates', which describes direct hiring. The Client T&Cs and the help centre describe COR with Ontop as the contracting party, invoicing in its own name. The pricing page does not say which model the $49 covers.[1][5][6] |
Each service gets its own score from our five criteria. Review-platform ratings are not part of it.
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 7.8 | 2.34 | Contracting entity on a company register: yes; Service agreement: published; Own security certifications: SOC 2; Licences: 1; Facts on record for this criterion: 4 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 10.0 | 2.00 | Countries: 155 countries documented, 150 claimed; Reach: 100% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 5.0 | 1.00 | Price: published; fewer than 5 other providers price this way, so it is not ranked; Setup fee: none; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: not disclosed; Termination fee: charged; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 7.3 | 1.10 | API: not disclosed; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: yes; Documents in the platform: contracts yes, IP assignment not disclosed, closing documents yes; Payout methods: bank transfer, e-wallet, crypto and card; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 7.0 | 1.05 | Live support channels: messenger, chat and email; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: yes; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: not stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 5. |
| Our score | 7.5 |
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 7.8 | 2.34 | Contracting entity on a company register: yes; Service agreement: published; Own security certifications: SOC 2; Licences: 1; Facts on record for this criterion: 4 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 7.0 | 1.40 | Countries: 0 documented, 150 claimed; Reach: 40% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 5.0 | 1.00 | Price compared with 16 providers charging per person a month in USD; 91% of them charge less; Setup fee: none; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: not disclosed; Termination fee: charged; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 7.3 | 1.10 | API: not disclosed; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: yes; Documents in the platform: contracts yes, IP assignment not disclosed, closing documents yes; Payout methods: bank transfer, e-wallet, crypto and card; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 7.0 | 1.05 | Live support channels: messenger, chat and email; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: yes; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: not stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 5. |
| Our score | 6.9 |
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 5.8 | 1.74 | Contracting entity on a company register: yes; Service agreement: published for Payouts and Contractors only; Own security certifications: SOC 2; Licences: 1; Facts on record for this criterion: 4 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 7.0 | 1.40 | Countries: 0 documented, 150 claimed; Reach: 49% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 9.0 | 1.80 | Price compared with 7 providers charging per person a month in USD; 0% of them charge less; Setup fee: none; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: not disclosed; Termination fee: charged; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 7.3 | 1.10 | API: not disclosed; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: yes; Documents in the platform: contracts yes, IP assignment not disclosed, closing documents yes; Payout methods: bank transfer, e-wallet, crypto and card; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 7.0 | 1.05 | Live support channels: messenger, chat and email; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: yes; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: not stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 5. |
| Our score | 7.1 |
As the provider states them.
Claimed is the provider’s own count. Documented countries are the ones with evidence from a company register or the provider’s own site; countries we list without evidence are not counted.
Claimed: 150 countries · Documented: 155 countries
| Country | Entity | From | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Not confirmed, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$49 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 |
Claimed: 150 countries · Documented: None documented
Claimed: 150 countries · Documented: None documented
Written by an AI model from the data on our pages on 15 Oct 2026. Not a recommendation, not our score, and not a quote from any assistant.
What does the data show about Ontop as Contractor of Record?
AI
Ontop lists COR at $49 per contractor a month with no setup fee. Its Client T&Cs and help centre say it acts as the contracting party and issues invoices in its own name, and name Ontop IC Operations LLC for COR agreements. The pricing card's own copy describes working directly with contractors under your own agreements.
What the data does not show
The pricing page does not say which model the $49 covers. The COR service agreement is not public, and no support response target or client onboarding time is stated.
What are Ontop's main drawbacks?
AI
The COR service agreement is not public, and the card copy and the terms describe different COR models. Ontop charges an early termination fee, and cancelling takes a form, written notice and 30 days. SOC 2 is stated on a help-centre page, with no report published. Support is not shown as live 24/7, and chats start with an AI bot.
What the data does not show
Transfer fees vary by country and payment rail, so the total cost per contractor is not shown here. We found no public API documentation or integration count.
No provider here has a higher contractor payouts score from us than Ontop; these follow it by our contractor payouts score. How we score
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
We cover three: contractor payouts, contractor management and Contractor of Record. All three use the same $49 per contractor a month card. Ontop's help centre says it no longer provides EOR services directly (getontop.zendesk.com, checked 2026-10-15).
Ontop's pricing page shows 'Starting from $49 /month' on the Contractor of record card, with $63.2 /month struck through and the note 'Subject to conditions and total number of workers'. It says there are no setup fees. Billing is per active contract or a Fixed Plan of pre-committed seats, plus transfer fees from a fee schedule (getontop.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-15).
Ontop's own pages disagree. The $49 card says 'Work directly with your contractors. Use your own agreements or Ontop templates', which describes direct hiring. The Client T&Cs and the help centre say that under COR Ontop subcontracts the worker, acts as the contracting party and invoices in its own name. The pricing page does not say which model the $49 covers (checked 2026-10-15).
Ontop's pricing page says it hires in 150+ countries. Its payout country guide lists methods for 155 countries that we document, and names 16 restricted countries (getontop.zendesk.com, checked 2026-10-15).
The pricing and Why Ontop pages say 24/7 support. The help centre lists 24-hour business support Monday to Thursday, support until 7 PM (UTC-5) on Friday, from 7 PM on Sunday and an on-call guard for the rest of the weekend. It offers WhatsApp, live chat and email and no phone support (checked 2026-10-15).
The Client T&Cs charge an early termination fee when a client ends an agreement before the end of its term: the greater of the fees for the rest of the term and the average of the last six months of fees times the months left. The help centre says cancelling needs a form, written notice, 30 days' notice and confirmation from Ontop (checked 2026-10-15).
Last checked: 15 Oct 2026.