Rated higher than Tipalti on Trustpilot.
Best for: Small businesses and startups, as Wise Business names them
- Trustpilot4.3/5· 294,008
Tipalti is a finance platform for paying suppliers and payees: accounts payable plus a Mass Payments product that we score under contractor payouts and contractor management. Mass Payments lists plans starting at $249 a month, with transaction pricing charged on top and not published, so we do not rank its price. It states payouts to 200+ countries and territories, publishes its Services Agreement and says it holds its own SOC 1 and SOC 2 attestations at Type II level.
| Service | Price | Basis | Score | Countries documented |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor payouts | Custom quote[1][2] | — | Our score 6.5 of 10 | None documented |
| Contractor management | Custom quote[1][2] | — | Our score 6.1 of 10 | None documented |
Providers with a higher contractor payouts score from us than Tipalti. How we score
Rated higher than Tipalti on Trustpilot.
Best for: Small businesses and startups, as Wise Business names them
Higher contractor payouts score: 7.5 against 6.5.
Best for: Companies paying contractors in many countries by bank, wallet, crypto or card
Higher contractor payouts score: 6.8 against 6.5.
Best for: Companies of any size that work mostly with contractors spread over many countries
Setup fees and what each list price includes, by service.
| Service | Setup fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Contractor payouts | — | Mass Payments: plans start at $249 a month (the provider's stated plan fee), with unlimited users and a payee portal. Transaction pricing is charged on top and varies by payment method and destination; no per-payment fee is published. Standard implementations are included and complex setups may need paid professional services. If the agreement ends before the term does, the Services Agreement requires the remaining fees of that term, and terms renew automatically unless notice is given 30 days before the end; the term is in the Order Form, which is not public. Accounts Payable starts at $99 a month and is a different product.[1][2] |
| Contractor management | — | The same Mass Payments plan covers this service: payee portal, tax-form collection and self-billing invoices. Transaction pricing is charged on top and is not published.[1][2] |
Each service gets its own score from our five criteria. Review-platform ratings are not part of it.
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 8.3 | 2.49 | Contracting entity on a company register: yes; Service agreement: published; Own security certifications: SOC 1, SOC 2; Licences: 1; Facts on record for this criterion: 4 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 7.0 | 1.40 | Countries: 0 documented, 200 claimed; Reach: 63% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 2.5 | 0.50 | Price: not published (quote only); Setup fee: not disclosed; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: not disclosed; Termination fee: charged; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 7.3 | 1.10 | API: yes; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: not disclosed; Documents in the platform: contracts not disclosed, IP assignment not disclosed, closing documents yes; Payout methods: bank transfer, e-wallet and crypto; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 7.0 | 1.05 | Live support channels: email, chat and phone; Live support hours: stated, not round the clock; Dedicated manager: not stated; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Our score | 6.5 |
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 8.3 | 2.49 | Contracting entity on a company register: yes; Service agreement: published; Own security certifications: SOC 1, SOC 2; Licences: 1; Facts on record for this criterion: 4 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 5.0 | 1.00 | Countries: not disclosed; Facts on record for this criterion: 0 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 2.5 | 0.50 | Price: not published (quote only); Setup fee: not disclosed; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: not disclosed; Termination fee: charged; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 7.3 | 1.10 | API: yes; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: not disclosed; Documents in the platform: contracts not disclosed, IP assignment not disclosed, closing documents yes; Payout methods: bank transfer, e-wallet and crypto; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 7.0 | 1.05 | Live support channels: email, chat and phone; Live support hours: stated, not round the clock; Dedicated manager: not stated; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Our score | 6.1 |
As the provider states them.
Claimed is the provider’s own count. Documented countries are the ones with evidence from a company register or the provider’s own site; countries we list without evidence are not counted.
Claimed: 200 countries · Documented: None documented
Written by an AI model from the data on our pages on 16 Oct 2026. Not a recommendation, not our score, and not a quote from any assistant.
What does the data show about Tipalti as a contractor payouts provider?
AI
Tipalti's Mass Payments lists plans starting at $249 a month, with transaction pricing charged on top and unpublished. It states payouts to 200+ countries and territories and lists bank, PayPal wallet, check and stablecoin methods. Its Services Agreement is public and it states own SOC 1 and SOC 2 attestations at Type II level.
What the data does not show
We document no countries and cannot rank its price. The Order Form with fees and term is not public.
What are Tipalti's main drawbacks?
AI
The cost of a payout cannot be worked out from public pages: only the $249 plan fee is shown. If the agreement ends before the term does, the customer owes the remaining fees of that term, and the term is in an unpublished Order Form; terms renew automatically. Support runs on stated hours, not 24/7.
What the data does not show
Its published pages do not say whether a client can sign up alone or how long onboarding takes.
Other contractor payouts providers, by our contractor payouts score. How we score
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Mass Payments lists plans starting at $249 a month, with unlimited users and a payee portal. Transaction pricing is charged on top and is not published. Accounts Payable, a separate product, starts at $99 a month. The Order Form with fees and term is not public (tipalti.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-16).
Tipalti says its platform pays 200+ countries and territories in 120+ currencies using 50+ payment methods (source: its Mass Payments page, read 2026-10-16). No country list is published, hence none is documented here.
Its Mass Payments materials describe tax-form collection, including W-9 and W-8, with 1099 and 1042-S preparation reports. We have not tested how this works in practice.
Its Mass Payments product sits in our contractor payouts and contractor management lists only. The public Services Agreement is between Tipalti and the customer, and its Mass Payments pages describe payouts, tax forms and self-billing invoices, not employment or contractor-of-record contracts.
Email and phone daily 6 am to 6 pm Pacific, and live chat on weekdays 6 am to 2 pm Pacific. The support page says its average first response time is under 2 hours. Only the knowledge base is open 24/7 (tipalti.com/resources/support, checked 2026-10-16).
Tipalti's stablecoin terms say it may allow a customer to pay payees in stablecoin through a payout provider, for customers who enable the service. Other methods include bank transfers, PayPal wallets and paper checks.
Last checked: 16 Oct 2026.