Higher EOR score: 7.8 against 6.9.
Best for: Startups, growing companies and enterprises, the three segments Pebl writes a page for
Read review (Pebl)Oyster sells Employer of Record at $699 per employee a month and contractor management at $29 per contractor a month after 30 free days. Its pricing and EOR pages claim EOR in 120+ countries; we document 112 countries + 2 territories (Bermuda and Hong Kong) from its own pages. It says it holds a SOC 2 Type II report, and it publishes its Customer Terms.
| Service | Price | Basis | Score | Countries documented |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Employer of Record | US$699[1][2][3] | per employee a month | Our score 6.9 of 10 | 112 countries + 2 territories |
| Contractor management | US$29[1][4][2] | per contractor a month | Our score 7.7 of 10 | 173 countries + 12 territories |
Providers with a higher EOR score from us than Oyster. How we score
Higher EOR score: 7.8 against 6.9.
Best for: Startups, growing companies and enterprises, the three segments Pebl writes a page for
Read review (Pebl)Higher EOR score: 7.5 against 6.9.
Best for: Companies moving contractors onto local employment contracts, a use Remote's EOR page names
Read review (Remote)Rated higher than Oyster on Capterra, G2 and Trustpilot.
Best for: Startups and global enterprises, in Deel's own words
Read review (Deel)Setup fees and what each list price includes, by service. The EOR fee for a team follows under Cost at volume.
Oyster’s EOR fee at its list price of US$699 per employee a month, for a team of 1, 10 and 50 employees.
| Employees | Per month | Per year |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | US$8,388 | |
| 10 | US$83,880 | |
| 50 | US$419,400 |
Provider fee only, before salary and employer contributions; list price from the provider’s page; volume discounts not included.[1][2][3]
Oyster’s EOR list price next to the providers with the highest EOR score from us that price EOR per head a month in USD. They are picked by our score, not by price.
PeblUS$399
MultiplierUS$459a
DeelUS$599
RemoteUS$599
OysterUS$699Each service gets its own score from our five criteria. Review-platform ratings are not part of it.
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 6.8 | 2.04 | Entities on company registers: 3; Service agreement: published; Own security certifications: SOC 2; Licences: none recorded; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 7.6 | 1.52 | Countries: 112 countries + 2 territories documented, 120 claimed (territories not counted); Reach: 69% of the widest provider of this service; Own entities on company registers: 2, 2% of documented countries; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 2. |
| Price | 20% | 6.0 | 1.20 | Price compared with 20 providers charging per person a month in USD; 100% of them charge less; Setup fee: none; Deposit: 1 month; Minimum term: none; Termination fee: none; Facts on record for this criterion: 5 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 8.2 | 1.23 | API: yes; Integrations: 23; Self-serve sign-up: not disclosed; Documents in the platform: contracts yes, IP assignment yes, closing documents yes; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 4. |
| Support | 15% | 6.0 | 0.90 | Live support channels: chat, tickets and email; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: on record, not confirmed; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: not stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 5. |
| Our score | 6.9 |
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 7.3 | 2.19 | Contracting entity on a company register: yes; Service agreement: published; Own security certifications: SOC 2; Licences: none recorded; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 10.0 | 2.00 | Countries: 173 countries + 12 territories documented, 180 claimed (territories not counted); Reach: 95% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 6.5 | 1.30 | Price compared with 16 providers charging per person a month in USD; 44% of them charge less; Setup fee: not disclosed; Deposit: 1 month; Minimum term: not disclosed; Termination fee: not disclosed; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 8.8 | 1.32 | API: yes; Integrations: 23; Self-serve sign-up: yes; Documents in the platform: contracts yes, IP assignment yes, closing documents yes; Payout methods: not disclosed; Facts on record for this criterion: 4 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 6.0 | 0.90 | Live support channels: chat, tickets and email; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: on record, not confirmed; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: not stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 5. |
| Our score | 7.7 |
As the provider states them.
Claimed is the provider’s own count. Documented countries are the ones with evidence from a company register or the provider’s own site; countries we list without evidence are not counted.
Claimed: 120 countries · Documented: 112 countries + 2 territories
| Country | Entity | From | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| Not disclosed | US$699 | Provider’s site, 7 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$699 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 |
Claimed: 180 countries · Documented: 173 countries + 12 territories
| Country | Entity | From | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | US$29 | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 |
Written by an AI model from the data on our pages on 15 Oct 2026. Not a recommendation, not our score, and not a quote from any assistant.
What does the data show about Oyster as an Employer of Record?
AI
Oyster lists EOR at $699 per employee a month with no setup fee, and its Customer Terms set no minimum term: either side can end on 30 days' notice. It claims 120+ EOR countries; we document 112 countries + 2 territories from its own pages. It says it holds a SOC 2 Type II report and offers a public API.
What the data does not show
Company registers show own entities only in the Netherlands and Spain; Oyster does not say whether it uses own entities or partners elsewhere. Its 48-hour onboarding figure is the fastest case it cites, with no maximum stated.
What are Oyster's main drawbacks?
AI
Price, deposits and support detail. EOR at $699 sits higher than each of the 20 other USD-priced EOR offers we score. Each Service Agreement, contractors included, needs a deposit of at least one month's fees, and Oyster can ask for more on 5 days' notice. Oyster publishes no support hours or response target.
What the data does not show
The data does not show deposit sizes above the one-month floor or how often top-ups are requested. No ISO 27001 certificate is listed.
Providers with a higher EOR score from us than Oyster. How we score
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Signals checked 21 Jul 2026
Employer of Record and contractor management, which we cover here. Its Customer Terms name these as its two core services, the Team Member Service (EOR) and the Contractor Service. The pricing page also sells HR advisory (People Partner Services) at $300 an hour.
Oyster's pricing page gives EOR at $699 per employee a month and contractors at $29 per contractor a month, free for the first 30 days. It says annual discounts are available and that setup, onboarding and processing terminations cost nothing extra (oysterhr.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-15). A deposit comes on top; see below.
Its pricing, EOR and startup pages say 120+. Its country-availability page lists 185 locations, 116 of them tagged Employer of Record, and warns that EOR in some (Albania is one) may take longer or need a minimum number of hires. We document 112 countries + 2 territories (Bermuda and Hong Kong) for EOR. For contractors it claims 180+, and the page lists all 185 locations: 173 countries + 12 territories. Company registers show own entities in the Netherlands and Spain; Oyster HR, Inc. is registered in Delaware.
Yes, for EOR and contractors alike. The Customer Terms require an initial deposit for each Service Agreement, set by Oyster and never less than one month of fees, and allow supplementary deposits on 5 days' written notice, for example when monthly costs rise or Transition Costs are expected. Oyster holds the deposit with a security interest until nothing is owed, may use it for Transition Costs or overdue amounts, and returns the rest within 60 days. The pricing page calls the EOR deposit refundable.
There is no fee for processing a termination, per the pricing FAQ. The costs of ending employment, which the Customer Terms call Transition Costs (pay in lieu of notice, accrued vacation, severance and similar payments), are billed to the customer on top. Either side can end a Service Agreement on 30 days' written notice.
Last checked: 15 Oct 2026.