Higher COR score: 7.5 against 6.6.
Best for: Companies moving contractors onto local employment contracts, a use Remote's EOR page names
Read review (Remote)Mellow sells Contractor of Record, contractor payouts and, without a price, contractor management. Contractor of Record costs 5.5% of payout volume at the entry tier (3.5% for the first three months, down to 3.5% at higher volumes), and payouts start at 3.5%. We score no Employer of Record or payroll service for Mellow, and it publishes no named security certification.
| Service | Price | Basis | Score | Countries documented |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor of Record | 5.5%[1][2][3] | of each payout | Our score 6.6 of 10Limited data | None documented |
| Contractor payouts | from 3.5%[4][1] | of each payout | Our score 5.8 of 10Limited data | 121 countries + 4 territories |
| Contractor management | Custom quote[4][5][6][1] | — | Our score 4.3 of 10Limited data | None documented |
Providers with a higher COR score from us than Mellow. How we score
Higher COR score: 7.5 against 6.6.
Best for: Companies moving contractors onto local employment contracts, a use Remote's EOR page names
Read review (Remote)Rated higher than Mellow on G2.
Best for: Startups, scale-ups, mid-market companies and enterprises, in Remote People's own words
Read review (Remote People)Rated higher than Mellow on G2.
Best for: Startups and global enterprises, in Deel's own words
Read review (Deel)Setup fees and what each list price includes, by service.
| Service | Setup fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Contractor of Record | None | Percent of payout volume. 5.5% is the entry-tier rate after the introductory offer: new clients pay 3.5% for the first three months, then the rate settles between 3.5% and 5.5% by monthly volume, lower as volume grows; the volume thresholds are not published. The client pays the fee by default and can share it with the contractor. The company funds a balance with a B2B invoice before payments. Country figures differ by page: 150+ on the pricing page, 100+ on the Contractor of Record page, 197 in the help-centre sign-up guide.[1][2][3] |
| Contractor payouts | None | The Global Payouts page says the pay-as-you-go model 'starts at 3.5%' with no contractor fees, caps or setup charges. The freelancer-side Global Invoicing product is 5% of the transaction (8% when the client pays by card) and is not this price. Country rows come from the help-centre list of successful card payouts (section 1); the seven countries only under 'Possibly successful payouts' (Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Belize, Brunei, Mozambique, Republic of the Congo, Trinidad and Tobago) are claims, not documented.[4][1] |
| Contractor management | — | No contractor-management price is published: the $35 per contractor a month card of June 2026 is no longer on the pricing page, and /for-business/contractor-management now opens the home page. Mellow still offers contractor management with its payouts: the Global Payouts page lists features such as multiple entity management and rule-based access, says 'Onboarding, management, and setup are provided at no charge' next to its 3.5% pay-as-you-go payout fee, and says existing contractors can move to 'Mellow's management system'. The Enterprise page is titled 'Your Control Center for Global Contractor Management' and describes the Contractor of Record model; the Mid-Market page says 'Hire, manage, and pay contractors in 100+ countries'.[4][5][6][1] |
Each service gets its own score from our five criteria. Review-platform ratings are not part of it.
Limited data: fewer than half of the facts our method scores are on record for Mellow. Criteria without a fact get a neutral value, so these scores may change as facts are added. How we score
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 6.0 | 1.80 | Contracting entity on a company register: yes; Service agreement: published; Own security certifications: none named; Licences: none recorded; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 7.0 | 1.40 | Countries: 0 documented, 150 claimed; Reach: 49% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 6.0 | 1.20 | Price: published; fewer than 5 other providers price this way, so it is not ranked; Setup fee: none; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: none; Termination fee: not disclosed; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 8.8 | 1.32 | API: yes; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: yes; Documents in the platform: contracts yes, IP assignment yes, closing documents yes; Payout methods: bank transfer, card, crypto and e-wallet; Facts on record for this criterion: 4 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 6.0 | 0.90 | Live support channels: email and chat; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: no; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Our score | 6.6 |
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 2.5 | 0.75 | Contracting entity on a company register: none found; Service agreement: published for COR only; Own security certifications: none named; Licences: none recorded; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 8.5 | 1.70 | Countries: 121 countries + 4 territories documented, 100 claimed (territories not counted); Reach: 80% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 6.5 | 1.30 | Price compared with 6 providers charging a percentage of payouts; 75% of them charge less; Setup fee: none; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: not disclosed; Termination fee: not disclosed; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 8.0 | 1.20 | API: yes; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: yes; Documents in the platform: not disclosed; Payout methods: bank transfer, card, crypto and e-wallet; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 5.5 | 0.83 | Live support channels: email and chat; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: not stated; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: not stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 5. |
| Our score | 5.8 |
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 2.5 | 0.75 | Contracting entity on a company register: none found; Service agreement: published for COR only; Own security certifications: none named; Licences: none recorded; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 5.5 | 1.10 | Countries: 0 documented, 100 claimed; Reach: 27% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 3.0 | 0.60 | Price: not published (quote only); Setup fee: not disclosed; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: not disclosed; Termination fee: not disclosed; Facts on record for this criterion: 0 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 7.0 | 1.05 | API: yes; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: not disclosed; Documents in the platform: not disclosed; Payout methods: bank transfer, card, crypto and e-wallet; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 5.5 | 0.83 | Live support channels: email and chat; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: not stated; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: not stated; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 5. |
| Our score | 4.3 |
As the provider states them.
Claimed is the provider’s own count. Documented countries are the ones with evidence from a company register or the provider’s own site; countries we list without evidence are not counted.
Claimed: 150 countries · Documented: None documented
Claimed: 100 countries · Documented: 121 countries + 4 territories
| Country | Entity | From | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Not confirmed, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Not confirmed, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 | |
| — | 3.5% | Provider’s site, 15 Oct 2026 |
Claimed: 100 countries · Documented: None documented
Written by an AI model from the data on our pages on 15 Oct 2026. Not a recommendation, not our score, and not a quote from any assistant.
What does the data show about Mellow as a Contractor of Record?
AI
Mellow charges 5.5% of payout volume for Contractor of Record at the entry tier, with 3.5% for the first three months and down to 3.5% at higher volumes; no setup fee, no minimum term. Its published terms of 1 June 2026 name TMS SolarWeb Limited, registered in Cyprus, as operator.
What the data does not show
Country figures differ by page (150+, 100+, 197) and we document no country list for this service. Mellow publishes no named security certification.
What are Mellow's main drawbacks?
AI
No named security certification is published; PCI DSS is claimed in an FAQ without an attestation. Only Contractor of Record has published terms. Contractor management has no published price, and the 3.5% payout starting rate is above 4 of the 6 other percent-of-payout prices we compare.
What the data does not show
Support hours and onboarding time are not stated. A dedicated manager is listed only in the custom Partner plan.
Other COR providers, by our COR score. How we score
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
For Mellow we score three services: Contractor of Record, payouts and contractor management. Its pricing page lists Contractor of Record and a custom Mellow Partner plan; we score no Employer of Record, PEO or payroll service for it (mellow.io/pricing, checked 2026-10-15).
Contractor of Record is 5.5% of payout volume at the entry tier. New clients pay 3.5% for the first three months, then the rate is set by monthly volume between 3.5% and 5.5%, lower as volume grows (thresholds not published). The client pays by default and can share the fee with the contractor, and funds a balance by B2B invoice before payments. The page says zero setup fees and no monthly charges. Contractor payouts "start at 3.5%" with no contractor fees, caps or setup charges. Contractor management has no published price. Global Invoicing, the freelancer-side product at 5% by bank and 8% by card, is a separate product (mellow.io/pricing, checked 2026-10-15).
Mellow's pages give different figures: 150+ on the pricing page, 100+ on the Contractor of Record and Global Payouts pages and 197 in a help-centre sign-up guide. We document 121 countries + 4 territories for contractor payouts from the help-centre list of successful payouts, which is headed as payouts to bank cards. Seven countries listed there only under 'Possibly successful payouts' (where Mellow recorded failed card payouts) are not counted. Countries where payouts from the EU are not available are listed separately in the same article (checked 2026-10-15).
By bank account (SEPA, and local-currency accounts for residents of 29 countries), by Visa or Mastercard with restrictions by country, in USDT on TRC20 or ERC20, and to e-wallets (WMZ in the help centre; the pricing page also names Payoneer). Mellow says it adds no fee on the contractor's withdrawal (checked 2026-10-15).
1 entity on a company register: TMS SolarWeb Limited (Limassol, HE 329931), the operator of Contractor of Record under the product terms. The footer also names FIX Freelancer Ltd. (Limassol, HE 445986) as the operator of document flow and e-signatures, and FLIME B.V. and FRWD Limited, depending on product and region; no source ties them to a service as the contracting party, so they are not scored. Which entity contracts for payouts or contractor management is not stated.
No named certification. A Global Payouts FAQ answer says the platform meets regulations such as GDPR and PCI DSS, with no attestation or level. The Contractor of Record terms are public as a PDF; they form part of a Customer agreement that is not.
Email and chat. On the Contractor of Record page the team says it answers contractors' questions with responses averaging under 3 minutes; the plan table lists a standard SLA. Hours are not stated; its offices list 9:00-18:00 (Cyprus, Netherlands) and 9 am to 9 pm (US). A dedicated manager is in the custom Partner plan only (checked 2026-10-15).
Last checked: 15 Oct 2026.