Rated higher than Stripe on Trustpilot.
Best for: Small businesses and startups, as Wise Business names them
- Trustpilot4.3/5· 294,008
We score Stripe for one service, contractor payouts through Stripe Connect. A platform sends money from its own balance to the bank account or debit card of a seller, freelancer or other service provider, and pays 0.25% + 25¢ per payout plus $2 for each connected account that is paid in a month. Funds routing and platform management add 0.25% of payout volume where they apply, and cross-border payouts start at another 0.25%. Stripe publishes that fee schedule and its service agreement, and says it holds PCI DSS Level 1 and SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II. It is a payment rail that the platform builds into its own product, with no contractor management on top. It gives no list of Connect payout countries; its Connect page says Connect Onboarding supports 46+ countries and does not tie that figure to payouts.
| Service | Price | Basis | Score | Countries documented |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Contractor payouts | from 0.25%[1][2][3] | of each payout | Our score 6.4 of 10 | None documented |
Providers with a higher contractor payouts score from us than Stripe. How we score
Rated higher than Stripe on Trustpilot.
Best for: Small businesses and startups, as Wise Business names them
Rated higher than Stripe on Trustpilot.
Best for: Companies paying contractors in many countries by bank, wallet, crypto or card
Higher contractor payouts score: 6.8 against 6.4.
Best for: Companies of any size that work mostly with contractors spread over many countries
Setup fees and what each list price includes, by service.
| Service | Setup fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Contractor payouts | — | Read from the US Connect page, model where the platform handles pricing: 0.25% + 25¢ per payout sent and $2 per monthly active account (paid to bank account or debit card in that month). Instant Payouts 1% of payout volume; cross-border payouts from 0.25%; funds routing and platform management 0.25%. If Stripe handles pricing, the platform pays no account, payout-volume or per-payout fee. The euro page reads 0.25% + €0.10 and €2. US tax forms: $2.99 per 1099 e-filed or mailed. Global Payouts is a separate preview product for US and UK businesses with its own pricing. No deposit is stated.[1][2][3] |
Each service gets its own score from our five criteria. Review-platform ratings are not part of it.
| Criterion | Weight | Score | Contribution | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance | 30% | 8.3 | 2.49 | Contracting entity on a company register: yes; Service agreement: published; Own security certifications: PCI DSS, SOC 1, SOC 2; Licences: 1; Facts on record for this criterion: 4 of 4. |
| Coverage | 20% | 4.0 | 0.80 | Countries: 0 documented, 46 claimed; Reach: 14% of the widest provider of this service; Facts on record for this criterion: 1 of 1. |
| Price | 20% | 5.5 | 1.10 | Price: published in several parts (per payout, per account or percentages on top), so it is not ranked against single-figure prices; Setup fee: not disclosed; Deposit: not disclosed; Minimum term: none; Termination fee: on record, not confirmed; Facts on record for this criterion: 2 of 5. |
| Platform | 15% | 7.5 | 1.13 | API: yes; Integrations: not disclosed; Self-serve sign-up: yes; Documents in the platform: not disclosed; Payout methods: bank transfer and card (1 more on record, not confirmed); Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Support | 15% | 6.0 | 0.90 | Live support channels: phone, email and chat; Live support hours: not stated; Dedicated manager: no; Stated onboarding time: not stated; Stated response target: no; Facts on record for this criterion: 3 of 5. |
| Our score | 6.4 |
As the provider states them.
Claimed is the provider’s own count. Documented countries are the ones with evidence from a company register or the provider’s own site; countries we list without evidence are not counted.
Claimed: 46 countries · Documented: None documented
Written by an AI model from the data on our pages on 16 Oct 2026. Not a recommendation, not our score, and not a quote from any assistant.
What does the data show about Stripe as a contractor payout provider?
AI
Stripe Connect charges 0.25% + 25¢ per payout and $2 per monthly active account, plus 0.25% for funds routing where it applies and from 0.25% for cross-border payouts. Stripe states PCI DSS Level 1 plus SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audits. Stripe, LLC appears in GLEIF with Delaware file 4675506. Payouts go to bank accounts or debit cards.
What the data does not show
Stripe's Connect page says Connect Onboarding supports 46+ countries and lists no payout countries, so we document none. It states no deposit and no onboarding time.
What are Stripe's main drawbacks?
AI
Coverage we cannot document and an integration the platform must build. The docs allow self-serve cross-border payouts only among five regions: US, UK, EEA, Canada, Switzerland. Fees have several parts (per payout, per monthly active account, 0.25% routing, cross-border), and the 15-minute response target applies only to critical issues on paid support plans.
What the data does not show
This answer does not use review data.
Other contractor payouts providers, by our contractor payouts score. How we score
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Signals checked 29 Jun 2026
Stripe Connect payouts to contractors, sellers and other service providers. Stripe also offers Global Payouts, a separate preview product that requires Treasury and is open to businesses in the US and UK. It has its own pricing and is not scored here.
In the model where the platform sets pricing, the US page gives 0.25% + 25¢ per payout sent and $2 per monthly active account, which is an account paid in that month by bank or debit card. Instant Payouts cost 1% of payout volume, cross-border payouts start at 0.25% of payout volume, and funds routing and platform management cost 0.25% of payout volume where they apply. The euro page reads 0.25% + €0.10 and €2 (stripe.com/connect/pricing, checked 2026-10-16).
Stripe's Connect page says Connect Onboarding supports 46+ countries; no page lists payout countries, so we document none. Its docs let platforms in the US, UK, EEA, Canada or Switzerland send money across borders to connected accounts in the same five regions, and rule out self-serve cross-border payouts beyond them. Global Payouts states more than 160 countries, but only for US and UK businesses in preview.
Its Connect pages describe payouts, identity checks and onboarding of paid users, and we found no contract, closing-document or contractor-management flow. We therefore score only contractor payouts. The paid person accepts a Connected Account Agreement.
On its security page Stripe lists a PCI Service Provider Level 1 certification, annual SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II audit reports it hands out on request, and a public SOC 3 report. ISO 27001 is not on that page (docs.stripe.com/security, checked 2026-10-16).
Stablecoin payouts are in private preview, for platforms based in the US and for individuals or sole proprietors only, according to Stripe's docs. We do not score crypto as a payout method for Stripe.
Every customer gets 24x7 phone, email and chat help, but the page does not say people staff each channel. Paid Growth, Premium and Enterprise plans add escalation for critical issues with a stated 15-minute response target, and a technical account manager comes with Premium and Enterprise.
Last checked: 16 Oct 2026.